DIY Pom Pom Bows

It has been crazy around here making gifts and crafts for the upcoming Holiday. Since a lot of my friends and family read my blog, posting them here is…well…not advised 🙂 Not until after Christmas at least. I don’t want to give away any surprises!

Instead, I decided to write about wrapping presents. I wanted something different this year. I do not like using bags because they don’t stack well and they seem impersonal. I love wrapping boxes, and I collect them from the grocery store every time we go, and that is a couple times a week.

This year, I opted for brown craft paper instead of traditional wrapping paper. I love the simplicity of it and it makes the bows and ribbons stand out so much more. I also decided to change up my normal bows for yarn pom pom’s. They are so easy to make and they add a nice flare to the gift!

It is beginning to look like Christmas!
It is beginning to look like Christmas!

You can make a pom pom in one minute and use any colour or texture yarn you have kicking around. I like white. It reminds me of a snow flake!

I took the pictures from my couch, in front of the Christmas tree. The bokeh was not intended, but appreciated! Adds to the Christmas spirit 🙂

Hold yarn between two fingers and wrap. Make sure to keep your fingers slightly apart so your fingers don't turn blue.
Hold yarn between two fingers and wrap. Make sure to keep your fingers slightly apart so your fingers don’t turn blue.
Slip the wrapped yarn off of your fingers, cut the yarn and tie the left over string to one of the loops.
Slip the wrapped yarn off of your fingers, leaving a circle of yarn. Cut the yarn from the ball, leaving a long string. Wrap the long string around the middle of circle and tie it around one of the loops.
Now just cut all of the loops to make a pom pom. Leave the long string to tie to the present.
Now just cut all of the loops to make a pom pom. Leave the long string to tie to the present.
Yarn Pom Pom Bows
Yarn Pom Pom Bows

See how easy they are! Mya even approves of them! (I know she looks scared of them, but she really does love them)

 

2 thoughts on “DIY Pom Pom Bows

Leave a Reply

