The Gift of Christmas Decorations

The Gift of Christmas Decorations

I have always enjoyed making Homemade Christmas Decorations for my own home as well as give them to others as gifts during the holidays. I never really thought much about it, it was just a festive and cheerful way to say “Merry Christmas”. I never thought of the memories that Christmas decorations and ornaments can bring until I heard from an old friend I haven’t spoken to in 10 years.
I hope you are reading this Dawn, because it is stories like this that make the Holidays so special 🙂 Thank you for putting a smile on my face!
Recently on one of my blog posts, I posted a picture of a nutcracker because…well…..I love nutcrackers. They can move their mouths and you can make them talk in silly voices and…..I think you get my point. I am a child at Christmas 🙂 Anywho, I received a message from Dawn reminding me know that I had given her a nutcracker in a stocking exchange 10 years back when we worked together and that she thinks of me when she hangs it up at the Holidays. I laughed so hard because in that same stocking exchange, she gave me a beautiful homemade Christmas bulb and I think of her every year when I hang it on the tree.
The beautiful Christmas bulb that I received from Dawn 10 years.
The beautiful Christmas bulb that I received from Dawn 10 years.
That stocking exchange was 10 years ago, and even though we haven’t spoken to each other since, those Christmas decorations still bring back special memories and experiences. As do other decorations on the tree and around the house. Every year when you open that box of Christmas stuff that you haven’t seen in a full year, remember where they came from. Reflect on the friends and family who have helped you decorate your home for the Holidays.
Keep this in mind when thinking of that perfect gift to give this year. Christmas decorations are the ones that we cherish once a year, every year…forever…..or until they break 🙂
2 thoughts on “The Gift of Christmas Decorations

  1. I’m so happy that I brought a smile to your face today! It’s true that every year I see that nutcracker and think of you, and I regret not telling you sooner. I hope this inspires others to reach out to share a memory with someone from their past… and to make their day a little brighter too. Merry Christmas!!

Leave a Reply

