The Magic of Paint

The Magic of Paint

After finishing our kitchen renovations, we had a lot of paint and supplies left over.Β  Thank goodness because we still had a lot of rooms to finish! The main room that has been bugging me was the mud room. This room is the first room you see when you enter the house, it is also the stairway to the basement. I wanted a functional room that didn’t look crowded and cluttered and the first chore on the list was to get rid of the orange wood trim and put some color on the walls to give it a clean, fresh look.

BEFORE - Orange trim with peach walls
BEFORE – Orange trim with peach walls
BEFORE - Laundry landing (this is where I hang my clothes outside)
BEFORE – Laundry landing (this is where I hang my clothes outside)
BEFORE - Going down stairs. Note the little feet flooring :)
BEFORE – Going down stairs. Note the little feet flooring πŸ™‚

I am so proud to say that I brought this room to life for FREE! Using all of the paint left over from the kitchen reno, I mixed and matched to get the exact color that I was looking for. It is amazing what paint can do to a room! Watch the transformation πŸ™‚

Primed and painted all of the orange trim. I didn't realize this room was so peachy!
Primed and painted all of the orange trim. I didn’t realize this room was so peachy!
Added grey to the walls
Added grey to the walls
Laid down new flooring (left over from another job) bye bye little feet!
Laid down new flooring (left over from another job) bye bye little feet!
The magic of paint!
The magic of paint!

Since the Holidays are coming up, I am pushing to get this project done. I am not sure if I can finish the whole room for the cost of….free, but I think it will be close.

To Do List

  • Build a bench and coat hanger (on wall beside french door)
  • Change hanging light (or maybe just upcycle this one)
  • Put up red curtains
  • Start working downwards and pull up carpet and pull off wall paneling….that is another job all together!
11 thoughts on “The Magic of Paint

    1. I agree with the creepiness! We are about the start the bench and shelving unit on the wall tomorrow. I am beyond excited! I have to remember to take pictures along the way. I am notorious for only taking the “after” picture πŸ™‚

    1. Thanks for stopping by πŸ™‚ I am really looking forward to finishing it. We are building a bench and coat rack this week and bringing red into the room with curtains and cushions!

Leave a Reply

