Spiced Rhubarb Jelly

Spiced Rhubarb Jelly

Do you have a patch of rhubarb in your garden? Do you look at it every year wondering that to do with it? Some people dip it in sugar and eat it raw, some people make pies, some people stew it up and eat it like that.

Well, I have a patch of rhubarb in my garden and I HATE it! I hate it raw, I hate it in pies and I hate it stewed….especially hate it stewed! So after a couple of years of chopping it down and watching it grow back, I finally go the courage to make my own recipe with it….and it is amazing! Spiced Rhubarb Jelly. It is great on toast or in baking. It might even be good in a pie. It kind of tastes like Christmas in your mouth.

So if you want to use up that rhubarb (and you can make it twice a year. Would make a great gift for Christmas with a little bow on the jar!) here is the recipe:

  • 16 cups of washed and chopped rhubarb (about 1/2 inch pieces)
  • 8 cups sugar (I will cut this back next time to 6 cups, maybe even 5)
  • 3/4 cups lemon juice
  • Cinnamon to taste
  • Nutmeg to taste
  • All Spice to taste (I made mine quite spicy and I love it)
  • 6 pint jars, lids, etc

Add the rhubarb, sugar and lemon juice in a pot and let simmer until you get the right consistency. To check the consistency, put a teaspoon on jelly in a bowl and run a knife through it, if the jelly keeps separated, it is good to go. Once the consistency is right, add your spices and keep taste testing until it is perfect (this is the best part 🙂 )

After sterilizing the jars, add the jelly and give them a hot water bath for 10 minutes.

DONE AND DONE!

Hope you enjoy this jelly. It is a great way to start your day when it is cold and miserable in the morning. I have also just made some rhubarb bars with the jelly, so I will have to let you know how those turn out after I am done eating them….I mean eating one!

 

Leave a Reply

